Awards and Achievements

  1. Sylvania Fellowship 1948-49
  2. National Research Fellow (RCA Fellowship in Electronics), from NRC 1949-51
  3. Visiting MacKay Professor, University of California, Berkeley, 1959
  4. Professor, Miller Institute for Basic Research in Science, 1963-64 (University of California, Berkeley)
  5. Associate Editor, IEEE Transactions on Electron Devices, 1964
  6. NSF Grantee, U.S. Japan Cooperative Science Program, 1966
  7. Senior Visiting Fellow, University of Reading, England, Summer 1976
  8. Foreign Research Associate, Institute of Plasma Physics, Nagoya University, Nagoya, Japan, Fall 1981 and Winter 1982
  9. Visiting Chevron Professor of Energy, California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, California, Spring and Summer 1982
  10. Guest of Academia Sinica, China, lectured at Beijing and Hefei, September 1982
  11. Visiting Research Scholar at Max Planck Institute for Plasma Physics, Garching, Germany and at Institute for Theoretical Physics, University of Innsbruck, Austria, Winter 1985
  12. IEEE Plasma Science and Applications Award of the IEEE Nuclear and Plasma Sciences Society, June 1988
  13. Joint Institute of Fusion Studies (JIFT), Visiting Professor, Institute of Plasma Physics, Nagoya University, Japan, Fall 1988
  14. Fulbright Award, University of Innsbruck, Austria, Spring 1991
  15. Berkeley Citation, 1991
  16. JIFT Visiting Professor, NIFS, Nagoya, March-May 2002
  17. Visiting Prof. Gunma University, Japan, Sept. to Dec. 2003.
  18. John Dawson Award 2003 - For Pioneering Advances to Plasma Physics obtained through Simulations. Shared with Dr. A. Bruce Langdon. Presented at the 18th International Conference on Numerical Simulation of Plasmas (ICNSP), September 8-10, 2004, Falmouth, MA.
  19. 2011 IEEE Marie Sklodowska-Curie Award. For theoretical investigations and fundamental discoveries involving microwave tubes, electron beam physics and particle-in-cell simulation of plasma physics. Presented at the IEEE International Conference on Plasma Sciences in Chicago, Ill, June 2011.
  20. IEEE Nuclear and Plasma Sciences Society lifetime achievement award. Presented at the 2013 Pulsed Power and Plasma Science Conference, San Francisco, CA, June 2013.

Back to top

Last updated 6/11/2014