Picture of Cory Hall
Resume and CV
Graduate Students
Recent Presentations

Campus Directions
Campus Map
Directions to Cory and Soda Halls
Schedule of Classes
University of California, Berkeley

Tsu-Jae King Liu

Tsu-Jae King's photo

Vice Provost, Academic and Space Planning
TSMC Distinguished Professor in Microelectronics, EECS Department
Member, Kavli Energy NanoSciences Institute at Berkeley
Affiliated Faculty, Applied Science & Technology Graduate Program
Affiliated Faculty, Nanoscale Science and Engineering Graduate Group

Contact Information: 
E-mail: tking at eecs dot berkeley dot edu
Phone: (510) 642-2689

Office Hours (501 Cory Hall):
Mondays 4-5 PM

Mailing Address:
University of California at Berkeley
EECS Department, 253 Cory Hall #1770
Berkeley, CA 94720-1770

Charlotte Jones
Phone: (510) 664-4203
E-mail: cmjones at eecs dot berkeley dot edu

Grant Administrator:
Nicole Song 
E-mail: nicolenasong at berkeley dot edu


Research Areas:

  • Nanometer-scale semiconductor devices and technology
  • Novel non-volatile memory devices and technology
  • M/NEMS technology for ultra-low-power integrated circuits

Research Groups and Laboratories:

Research Centers and Programs:


  • B.S. Electrical Engineering, Stanford University (1984)
  • M.S. Electrical Engineering, Stanford University (1986)
  • Ph.D. Electrical Engineering, Stanford University (1994)

Awards and Honors

  • American Institute of Mechatronic Engineers (AIME) Ross M. Tucker Electronics Materials Award, 1992
  • National Science Foundation CAREER Award, 1998
  • Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA) Significant Technical Achievement Award, 2000
  • Semiconductor Research Corporation (SRC) Inventor Recognition Award, 2000, 2003, 2005
  • Outstanding Teaching Award, EE Division, EECS Department, 2003
  • SRC Focus Center Research Program Inventor Recognition Award, 2006, 2007
  • National Academy of Engineering Lillian M. Gilbreth Lectureship, 2006
  • Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), 2007
  • IEEE Kiyo Tomiyasu Award, 2010
  • UC Berkeley Distinguished Faculty Mentoring Award, 2010
  • The Electrochemical Society Thomas D. Callinan Award, 2011
  • Intel Outstanding Researcher in Nanotechnology Award, 2012
  • Semiconductor Industry Association University Researcher Award, 2014
  • SRC Aristotle Award, 2016

Post-Doctoral Researchers and Visiting Scholars

  • Dr. Daniel Connelly
  • Yi-Ting "Dennis" Wu (National Cheng Kung University)

    Graduate Students

    • Fei Ding
    • Benjamin Osoba
    • Chuang Qian
    • Urmita Sikder
    • Alice Ye
    • Xi Zhang
    Last updated October 1, 2016