Pre-1992 Conf Pubs
Home Biography Research Teaching UCB EECS CTN

Up Pre-1992 Conf Pubs 1992 Conf Pubs 1993 Conf Pubs 1994 Conf Pubs 1995 Conf Pubs 1996 Conf Pubs 1997 Conf Pubs 1998 Conf Pubs 1999 Conf Pubs 2000 Conf Pubs 2001 Conf Pubs 2002 Conf Pubs 2003 Conf Pubs 2004 Conf Pubs 2005 Conf Pubs 2006 Conf Pubs 2007 Conf Pubs 2008 Conf Pubs 2009 Conf Pubs 2010 Conf Pubs


Must Read Papers:

1.51-GHz with Q >10,000 Even in Air!
A result of purposely impedance-mismatching a polydiamond disk with its polysilicon stem.


1.2-GHz with Q = 14,600!

Who says diamond is needed to get Q >10,000 at GHz frequencies? With the right "hollow-disk" ring design, polysilicon can do even better than diamond.



60-MHz Wine-Glass Disk Oscillator Makes the GSM Reference Oscillator Spec!
Higher power handling and a Q >50,000 crucial in making the spec.



Arraying for Impedance <480W at 72MHz!
Mechanically coupled resonator arrays automatically align resonator frequencies to allow output summation for low impedance and higher power handling.


One of the First Lateral Comb-Driven Folded-Beam Micromechanical Resonators (1989) -- the design that jump-started it all!


The Latest Award Winning Papers:

Solid-Gap Vibrating Micromechanical Resonator Wins Best Paper Award at the 2005 IEEE Int. Frequency Control Symposium!
Congratulations to Yu-Wei Lin for winning the Best Frequency Control Paper Award at the 2005 IEEE  Int. Frequency Control Symposium.


Chip-Scale Atomic Clock Overview Paper Wins the Jack Raper Award at the 2005 IEEE Int. Solid-State Circuits Conference!
Congratulations to all those in the CSAC program (which Prof. Nguyen ran while at DARPA), especially John Kitching from NIST, who co-authored this paper.


Vibrating RF MEMS Wins Best Invited Paper Award at the 2004 IEEE Custom Integrated Circuits Conference!
Read this for an overview on vibrating RF MEMS.


Resonator Array Oscillator Wins 2004 UFFC Symposium Best Frequency Control Paper Award!
Congratulations to Seungbae Lee for winning the Best Frequency Control Paper Award at the 2004 IEEE Ultrasonics, Ferroelectrics, and Frequency Control 50th Anniv. Joint Conf.


Ext. Wine-Glass Resonator Work Wins 2003 IEDM Best Paper Award!
Congratulations to Yuan Xie for winning the 2003 Int. Electron Devices Meeting Roger A. Haken Best Student Paper Award.

  Conference Publications Before 1992:


C. T.-C. Nguyen, “Electromechanical Characterization of Microresonators for Circuit Applications,” M. S. Report, Dept. of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences, University of California at Berkeley, April 1991.

W. C. Tang, T.-C. H. Nguyen, M. W. Judy, and R. T. Howe, “Electrostatic-comb drive of lateral polysilicon resonators,” Sensors and Actuators, vol. A21-23, pp. 328-331, 1990.

W. C. Tang, T.-C. H. Nguyen, and R. T. Howe, “Laterally driven polysilicon resonant microstructures,” Sensors and Actuators, 20, 25-32, 1989.

W. C. Tang, T.-C. H. Nguyen, and R. T. Howe, “Laterally driven polysilicon resonant microstructures,” Proceedings, IEEE Micro Electromechanical Systems Workshop, Salt Lake City, Utah, pp. 53-59, February 1989.


M. G. Piepho and C. H. Nguyen, PROBCON-HDW: A Probability and Consequence System of Codes for Long Term Analysis of Hanford Defense Waste (PNL 6656), Pacific Northwest Laboratories, Richland, Washington 99352.


K. F. Ferris, G. J. Exarhos, and C. H. Nguyen, “Influence of solution chemistry on the microstructure of sol-gel derived films,” presented at the “Symposium on Optical Materials for High Power Lasers,” Nov. 3-4, 1986, Boulder, Colorado, published in proceedings by National Burea of Standards, U. S. Government Printing Office, Washington, DC 20402.




























Last Updated Tuesday, Aug. 7, 2012.

Contents copyright @ 2012. All rights reserved.

To report errors, please email: